

Australian Greyhound Racing Association

> MEDIA RELEASE 26th June 2016





By Jeff Collerson GRNSW Website

Jason Thompson landed the quinella in the Group 1 Ladbrokes Peter Mosman Classic at Wentworth Park on Saturday night, with Buck Forty (\$6.30) defeating kennelmate Invictus Rapid.

Before the race, the astute Thompson said he expected Invictus Rapid (\$12.30) to be the pacemaker and while that greyhound did lead from the first turn, Buck Forty zoomed along the rails in the home straight to snatch the \$75,000 winner's purse by a neck.



Usually a slow beginner, Buck Forty, who had box two, secured a dream run going through the catching pen after hot favourite Ritza Lenny (\$1.90), box one, knuckled over and almost fell at box rise.

Shima Song had jumped quickly from box three but moved slightly to the right, allowing Buck Forty to cruise into second place behind Invictus Rapid.

Ritza Lenny, whose terrible getaway had him a distant fifth in the middle stages, put up a mighty effort to finish third, four lengths behind the winner.

Buck Forty is owned by Clergate breeders Danielle and David Pringle, who sent the dog to Thompson's Pearcedale, Victoria kennels, in January.

After Saturday night's win David Pringle paid tribute to Thompson's ability as a trainer.

"He is a marvel," Pringle said.

"It's ironic Buck Forty relegated Ritza Lenny to third spot because Mark Gatt's dog Oaks Road beat Buck Forty's sire, Buck Fever, which I trained, in a Maitland Cup a couple of years back."

Saturday was a big day for the Thompson family as Jason's son Ben, one of Australia's leading apprentice jockeys, rode a winning double at Flemington just a few hours before Buck Forty's win.

The track was on the slow side on Saturday and Buck Forty stopped the clock at 29.83, well outside the 29.27 race record established last year by Fernando Bale.

While Ritza Lenny was a hard luck story, his trainer Gatt had some consolation on Saturday night as he landed a winning double with stayer More In Store in the AAA Radiator Specialists Stakes (720m) and with Ritza Rossi in the Find Us On Facebook Stakes (520m).

First run in 1952 as the Bi Annual Classic, the series was re-named in honour of former GBOTA Chairman Peter Mosman in 1988.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Shima Song (\$13.10), 5th Zambora Idole (\$35.40), 6th El Magnifico (\$3.50) 7th Runway Idole (\$61.30) and Tap Out Scarlet (\$63.80).

Buck Forty is a Black Dog whelped January 2014 by Buck Fever from Fancy Jaffa (Collision x Flash Fancy) he raced by David Pringle and trained by Jason Thompson from Pearcedale in Victoria. He has raced 21 times for eight wins and eight placings. The \$75,000 first prize for the Peter Mosman Classic took his stake earnings to \$263,388.

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987. Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of Black Top 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan's Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How's The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004), Tuiaki (2010) and a trio of Wheeler owned winners Allen Harper, Garrick Bale and the mighty Xylia Allen before winning again with last year's winner Fernando Bale. Below is the honour roll in full.

1952 Robin Buchanan, 1953 Miss Oakey, 1954 Farrago Hawk, 1955 Proto Girl, 1956 Double Jade, 1957 Fine Earl, 1958 Town Ghost, 1959 Tell You Why, 1960 Classy Jane, 1961 Silver Khan, 1962 Nimble Aye, 1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Sudden Linen, 1965 Satyr Rocket, 1966 Perfect Socks, 1967 Dark Durante, 1968 Rokoko, 1969 Silent Ring, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Alray Lad, 1972 Toouli, 1973 Dusty Trail, 1974 Early Copy, 1975 Arctic Raider, 1976 Proper Calibre, 1977 Ripa's Regard, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 Dick's Gem, 1981 Merry Tempest, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 Crathie Drive, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Yob Yobbo, 1987 Paris In Spring, 1988 Kinjarra, 1989 Style Leader, 1990 Classy Spider, 1991 Farmer Wilson, 1992 How's The Fort, 1993 Worthy Reward, 1994 Tap Dance1995 Patchtime, 1996 Casino Jack, 1997 William Wallace, 1998 Solve The Puzzle, 1999 Great Wish, 2000 Token Wave, 2001 Winsome Dollars, 2002 Big Sam Banner, 2003 Elite State, 2004 Surf Lorian, 2005 Over Flo, 2006 Faithful Love, 2007 Run The Risk, 2008 Lend Us Fifty, 2009 Devine Road, 2010 Tuiaki, 2011 Allen Harper, 2012 Garrick Bale, 2013 Xylia Allen, 2014 Bessy Boo and 2015 Fernando Bale.

Thanks for story content in the above release GRNSW Website For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838